BCCI Awards Declared; Sachin Tendulkar Felicitated

Spread the love

Indian batting legend Sachin Tendulkar and former all-rounder Salim Durrani bagged top honours, while the World Cup winning Indian team, led by skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni was felicitated by the Cricket Board at its annual awards function in Mumbai on Tuesday.

Tendulkar was bestowed with the Polly Umrigar Award for India’s best cricketer of 2009-2010 and received a trophy and cheque for Rs 5 lakh, while Durrani was felicitated with the CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award for which he received a trophy, a cheque for Rs 15 lakh and a citation.

BCCI president Shashank Manohar and BCCI secretary N Srinivasan felicitated members of the World Cup-winning Indian team and later presented them cheques worth Rs 2 crore each.

The support staff of the team was also presented cheques of Rs 50 lakh each.

Among those present were members of the 1983 World Cup winning squad, including then skipper Kapil Dev, ?Balwinder Singh Sandhu, Dilip Vengsarkar, Sandeep Patil and Yashpal Sharma.

On the occasion, Dhoni thanked fans for supporting the team and said that winning the coveted trophy after 28 long years was a proud moment. “I thank all of you for the support we got throughout the World Cup. Hundred crore people supported us in the country as well as outside. It was a great moment for us.

After receiving the best Indian cricketer award, Sachin thanked his team members and also lauded Dhoni and the support staff in helping India win the second World Cup.

Facebook Comments